Day 7 It’s All About Us

I loved both of the posts I chose for today and couldn’t decide which one to send. So, there are two posts today. Enjoy.

We who have seen the light of Christ are obliged,

by the greatness of the grace that has been given us,

to make known the presence of the Savior to the ends of the earth…

not only by preaching the glad tidings of His coming;

but above all by revealing Him in our lives…

Every day of our mortal lives must be His manifestation,

His divine Epiphany, in the world which He has created and redeemed.

Thomas Merton

6 thoughts on “Day 7 It’s All About Us

  1. I connected this passage and #3 in the reflections, What are you grateful for in my life. As I reflect on this, I do not want to sound like I am bragging, but I truly feel blessed for all God has given me. First I was blessed to grow up in a loving Christian family. I always felt safe and loved. Though I was very ill for the first 6 years of my life, I have been reasonably healthy the rest of my life. At a wild and turbulent time in my life, the Lord send Jonesey, who is now my wonderful, loving husband. He brought unconditional love and stability to me when I was truly floundering. The Lord helped my to find a job I truly loved, working with children, and after several different types, I ended up teaching Kindergarten, which I truly loved. I was given two very special gifts, Matthew Joseph Cronin, and Joseph Owen Cronin, my sons, who in turn became loving and caring husbands. I have recently become a Grandmother to two little girls who are a true joy. They bring back all the joys of being a mother without all the tiring work of motherhood, and it is poor bliss. I have been given many things, which are just things, but I am thankful for them as they make life a little easier. I have wonderful neighbors and the Lord sent me to St James where there a too many fabulous people to mention. I have renewed old friendships of friends from high school and grammar school which I am enjoying more now than I did when I was younger. We are much more accepting of each other for who we are and so we truly enjoy each others friendship. It is sometimes hard for me to accept all these gifts when I think how little I have given the Lord, but I am truly grateful and hope little by little to love and please the Lord more. Because I am retired and do not see others as often, I used this box to do my sharing. Thanks for listening. May God Bless You All.

    Hap

    • Julia, I loved this Retreat. I will go back to it often and hope to share some of the insights I have gained with others. Thank you, thank you…it has been a wonderful journey for me. i am so blessed that Lynn brought it to the table at Belleville’s W&E board meeting. I was on vacation in Florida for most of the posts and read them and reflected on them with my beloved sister. I hope you do this again. It certainly enriched my life. Peace, Gail

      • Hi Gail: I’m so glad you enjoyed the retreat! Thanks be to LYNN!!! I thought about you and your sister together in Florida doing this together — your sister told me that was the plan. Just lovely. Blessings and thanks for doing this so I could learn, Julia

  2. Hi Julia,

    I am sorry I cannot be there this morning. Jonesey has the stomach bug and I am just getting over it so I feel I should be here for him. I really enjoyed this week. With my hubby feeling poorly yesterday and today, I had a very quiet morning yesterday. I spent sometime journaling in my book and blogging for the first time. It was so nice to have special time with the Lord each morning and I enjoyed all the passages you chose and your words for us to ponder. Thank you so much for all your work. It was so meaningful and I hope we can do this next year. I plan to reread everything this week and and try different reflective activities.

    Hap

  3. Thank you Julia, what a wonderful gift you have given me with this retreat. I wish I were better at expressing myself suffice it to say I have enjoyed this so much.

Leave a Reply

