Day 4: Praying with God – Becoming Light

The Golden Lampstand

The Golden Lampstand*

Becoming Light
by Thomas Hoffman

We are God’s creative works in process. God alone knows what we shall become. What might God have in store in the fullness of our time? In the beginning, God created Light. In Mary, God became flesh. What will God become in us? Is there room in us for God’s seed to take root and grow? God has visited us with grace and favor. Are we ready to become Light?
Source: A Child in Winter

+++++

One of the most wonderful things that I’ve gained from reading the work of St. Ignatius is that he believed that “your deepest desire is God’s deepest desire for you.” Again: Your deepest desire is God’s deepest desire for you. Read that sentence one more time, close your eyes, and see how you feel. I absolutely love that concept!

I’ve also come to realize that one way we can search and name our deepest desire is through prayer. I encourage you to ask God for the graces to better understand what your deepest desire is. Rather than looking at just The Huge Stuff beyond your control, I encourage you to keep your thought process grounded in possibilities and joys nearby to where you already stand. Remember, God meet you where you are.

My dear sister’s deepest desire is to be the mother that she is. My friend Mary is a shepherd of the poor. One of my desires is to be able to share the love of God with others.  Louise does that every day.

 

 

*THE GOLDEN LAMPSTAND The golden lampstand, or candlestick, stands to the left as one enters through the door of the tabernacle. It is made of pure gold, from one piece of metal, has no joints, and is carved with buds and flowers under each branch of it. It stands on a square base on the floor of the tabernacle, with six branches, three on the one side and three on the other. The seven lamps are level at the top.

The candlestick represents ONENESS WITH THE HOLY GHOST.

3 thoughts on “Day 4: Praying with God – Becoming Light

  1. “Attentiveness is all; I sometimes think of prayer as a certain quality of attention that comes upon me when I’m busy doing something else.”[ii] James Martin says –
    EXACTLY! I couldn’t be more in agreement with that statement about prayer.

  2. Julia, thank you so much for sharing those words of St. Ignatius … they are powerful, moving, and profound. In fact, I would love to read the book from which you got this quote, as I’m sure it is full of spiritual gems.

    I chose this reflection for the day: “If God meets you where you are, where are you right now? Talk with God how you feel about where you are right now.”

    I feel scattered, unfocused, and spread too thin. I feel that I’m not managing my time well, have become forgetful because I have too many things on my plate, and find myself getting mired in addictive behavior — in this case, constantly checking my iPhone for email, Amazon.com for book rankings, and the like. When a thought becomes all consuming, that is addiction, is it not? I need to walk away from email and my iPhone, but it’s hard. The last eight months have been a whirlwind for me, a time of abundant gifts and resurrection of an old career I had long thought dead, and the excitement of it all, and the validation that I actually do have career worth in this world, have helped to lift me out of what had been a ten-plus year depression. That is all good, but I’m finding it hard to be disciplined with how I spend my time, hard to be disciplined, even, about putting my spiritual life front and center, or at least to give it the time it deserves. As is my habit, I say my prayers before going to bed every night, but it’s almost more of an OCD thing — “If I don’t say these prayers, something bad will happen.” Surely that is not how God works.

    So, dearest Lord, here I am, scattered, unfocused, busy, distracted, spread too thin, and not giving You the time you deserve. I hope you can, and will, meet me where I am, because I know I need You more than ever. You have blessed me richly, and I know you continue to bless me richly, and for that I am so grateful. I do know this: while I may feel like an electron spinning wildly through a defined orbit, You remain the nucleus, ever-constant, ever true. You don’t feel far away from me, and even in my zing-zangy universe, I can see and feel and hear You, and that gives me much comfort and relief.

    As my beloved Methodist pastor, friend and mentor, Rev. Ed, often told me: “If God feels far away, guess who moved?”

    Thank You for not feeling “far away.”

    — Danelle

Leave a Reply

